This article will discuss Shared Builders, users with access to the Knack Builder, and how to add them to an app.
What is a Shared Builder?
A Shared Builder is a user that has access to the Knack Builder for an individual app. Each plan offers a certain number of shared builders allowed on an account. These Shared Builders are added to individual apps, rather than an entire Knack account.
These users will be able to fully edit the app shared with them, including adding, editing, and deleting elements from both the Data and Pages section of the Knack Builder. However, Shared Builders won't be able to access other apps or settings on your account, delete your app or add new apps.
Note: Each plan offers a certain number of shared builders allowed on an account which includes the account owner. Each email address added as a shared builder will be counted as a single shared builder. Note that you can add the same email address to multiple apps as a shared builder without it affecting your shared builder count (they will still count as 1 shared builder against your limit). You can read more about the shared builders, and how many your plan allows here.
Adding Shared Builders
A Shared Builder can be added to an app from the "Apps" section of the Knack Dashboard. Once there, select the “Share” option from the app settings.
This will open a modal popup allowing you to share your app. Once there select "Add Builder" to add details for your new Shared Builder.
Add the Name and Email for your Shared Builder and select the "Add Builder" button once more.
Next you will see a confirmation message that your new Shared Builder was added successfully.
Once added, the Shared Builder will receive an email with a link to your app. If your Shared Builder does not have a Knack account, a temporary password will be created for them.
Viewing and Removing Shared Builders
To view Shared Builders on an app, select the "Share" section from the app settings.
This will open a modal popup where you can view any current Shared Builders or add a new one.
In the same modal popup showing existing Shared Builders. There you can remove them by selecting the trashcan icon.
Notes & Troubleshooting
Overwriting Changes made in the Live App or Builder
At this time it is possible to overwrite changes that other users have made both in the Knack Builder and in the Live App. In other words, there is not a way to prevent users from accessing the builder or a record in the live app when it is being edited in another session by another user.
As such, we strongly encourage the following:
- All Knack Builders have one browser window or tab open while working on schema changes in the Builder. Otherwise if you, or another shared builder on that app, have an older version of the schema open and save changes there, it can overwrite the updates you just made.
- In the Live App, we encourage creating a workflow or process to limit the number of users that might need to edit the same record at any one time.